Help I.D. Insect please

Could I get some help identify this little guy.
Really tiny but I got a pic through my loupe.
I appreciate any input I can get.

1 Like

100 percent soybean thrip

Google it

Amd get some captain jacks

1 Like

I was hoping you would see this. I was just about to tag you in it. Lol
Thanks as always!

1 Like

Tag me anytime you want …
If I don’t know …I will tell you that …

I’m new at all of it but have spent hours and hours researching these pests

That one is definitely a soybean thrip because of the lateral bands on its body
Other thrips have the same bands but lengthwise

1 Like

I can also tell you that one is closer to being an adult so it’s probably looking to lay eggs somewhere …they like to bore a hole in new stem material amd deposit thier eggs …most likely impossible to see where unless you watched and had some way of marking it

If you happen to see it sticking it’s ass in the air on a stem try and stop it

They also can be combatted with water but I’d rather trust captain jacks to thrips

Not the easiest insect pest to get rid of

Finally budding and now this. It doesn’t seem to have slowed down growth at all though and the Ace Hardware down the street has the Capt Jacks in stock.
Should I clean the entire tent?

1 Like

I would spray that plant top and underside of all leaves and stems
It is also said it’s safe on buds …but maybe wait for others that have used it in flower as I never have …

Also take care of when you do it
Me personally I’d rather do it late afternoon when the sun is setting and leave it on all night

You also may need to repeat that process more than once and I think 3 or 5 days apart …

1 Like

It’s in a grow tent so I’ll do it just before lights out. Thanks

1 Like

My bad …sorry …but yes same idea

Do you want have one of these ??

Me personally I’d put the dead bug in there because you can spray a fine continuing mist …

It will help ypu not waste the product