Help - Germinated seeds haven't sprouted from outdoor pot yet

This is my first attempt at growing. I germinated 5 seeds overnight in water for 24 hours, and they all produced tiny tails. I planted them each outdoors in their own pot of moist starter soil about 1/2" deep on July 5th (6 days ago). Over the first 3 days, 3 of the seeds sprouted and are now about 1/2 - 1" above the soil.

I’m getting worried about the 2 that haven’t shown any activity yet. Is it normal that a couple of germinated seeds might take more than 6 days to sprout? If not, is there anything I can do to try to salvage them (e.g. add more water or some nutrients, loosen soil above them, dig up and replant, etc)? Details on my setup below.

Thanks!

BP

Strain: Cheese Autoflower seeds

Soil in pots, Hydroponic, or Coco?: Biobizz light mix

System type? pots outside

What is strength of nutrient mix? EC, or TDS. No nutrients yet. Just moist Biobizz light mix

Indoor or Outdoor: Outdoor.

Light system, size?. Natural light - 5-6 hours direct sunlight, 9-10 hours in shade/filtered light

Temps; Day, Night: Day - 70s - 80s F; Night - 60s - 70s F

Humidity; Day, Night - Dewpoint between 50 - 70 F

I prefer to start in wet towel. Once the tap root is 1/4" to 1/2", I move to grow pots. I bury the sprouted seed until the top of the head is showing. Once they sprout and have two or three sets of leaves, you can add more media to support stalk and the covered area will grow even more roots.

If the seed doesn’t sprout in 3 days…it’s dead. Plant more than you will want. Not all plants will be big fat and healthy. You can take out the weak and sick. Keeping the healthy.

It is possible that one or two take longer
I will soak my seeds for 24 hour then plave it paper towel for 24 hours and plant when i have 1/4 to 1/2 inch tap roots

1 Like