Help First time Grower!

Ok bare in mind im a noob to this lol ! Everyone starts somewhere hehe, So im about to start my grow i have my 3 Feminised Autoflowering seeds in water now then going to papertowel them if not popped in 24-36 hours, I only have one light and that is a 250w Hps, Once the root has popped i will put them root down into plastic cup, the question is when do i give it light ? how far should the light be away from the soil? give it light straight away or wait for abit ? if i do give light what hours 18-6 etc ? I only have one 250w Hps. Here is a picture of my setup Thank yous !!

4 Likes

@bob31 @dbrn32 should be able to help you :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

help me lol

Assuming you’re going to have soil or some sort of a seed starting mix in your plastic cup, as soon as you place the taproot into that, you can place that under your light. I would run at least 18 hours. Some prefer 20 or 24 hours of light for seed starting, but you should be safe at anything 18 hours or above.

I’ve never started seeds with an hid bulb, but my guess would be you’ll want to start about 30-36” above the top of your pots. You’ll run it closer as they start to grow, but for initial starting you’ll want a good distance.

Hopefully that answers all of your questions for now. Feel free to tag me if you need anything else.

5 Likes

@Steven420 you can grow with a HPS, but during the veg stage she will stretch quite a bit from the red spectrum. As long as you’re aware of that, then it’ll grow just fine. Happy growing.

3 Likes

@Steven420 welcome the ILGM Forum Family! I think @dbrn32 has you covered on the lights. If you have any other questions, please ask!

2 Likes

If you happen to be in a place where it’s summer, you could always start them outdoors. The sun is the perfect spectrum and always the right height above the plants.

1 Like

So true. No light beats pure sunlight.