Has anyone tried Water Wicking?

Curious, has anyone in FFOF ever tried water wicking? Thinking about trying it but I’m a newbie and don’t want to screw the girls up. Any thoughts?

3 Likes

I know a lot of folks who build a wicking system when using air pots since they have no way of seeping up the excess after a watering. Seems to work really well for them.

These plants require too much water for that, I’d think.

Maybe Hucho has a possible solution…

That’s pretty cool stuff. I had initially thought about going that route. Might try it later on. Got to figure out these basics first. Think I killed my seedling. Cooked her and she died from lack of water.

I’m in the process of similar experiments… I have not tried wicking but I feel like it might work. I have previously used blumat carrots with great success… I have a lot of aquariums and fill the reservoir with dirty aquarium water.

I just bought some more carrots… I’m going to do it again, but this time I’m going to put Jacks 20-20-20, at 1/4 strength, in the water so they’re on a continuous feed. Switching to 10-30-20 for flower… Mine is gravity fed, but I think I’ve seen some blumat carrots that don’t require that… Mine not even require it… Honestly I don’t know… I haven’t looked… the only place I can put the water is “up” because of space issues… It worked great though… I was really paranoid about it for a while, but if you sit and watch them, they work really well

Not the best picture, but the water reservoir is a 5 gallon home Depot bucket that sits just out of the picture in the right closet… In the left closet, just out of frame, is a window ac unit… There’s an air intake w/ fan between to closets… I want to be able to shut those closet doors and not open them for a couple weeks( not that I could possibly do that, but you know)

2 Likes