Harlequin germinates then stops growing

From a fellow grower: No idea what is going on. All 8 seeds had a great taproot. Once planted none of them germinated. I have a grow station and even have tried a couple different seedling soils. I still haven’t had any success. The temp is about 77-80 plenty of humidity and enough water. I understand they may be temperamental or moderately difficult to grow but I am not a newbie and I germinate as described in your germination guide. Maybe this strain needs something extra?

• Strain: Harelquin
  • Type (fem/auto/reg): Photoperiod
  • Climate (indoor/outdoor): Indoor
  • Medium (soil/hydro/details): Soil
  • pH of runoff or solution in reservoir: N/A
  • Nutrient mix strength (EC/TDS)
  • Light type & schedule: Grow light on at 8am off at 5pm with seedling heat pad
  • Temperatures day & night: Day temp average is 78.9. Night time temp average 71.2
  • Humidity day & night: Relative humidity day 41.2 Night 40.5

This is like a very uneducated guess of mine.

PH and/or overwatering.

If you have sprouted many Marihuana seeds with this method and this is the first time failing, there is something off. What it is I’m not experienced enough to tell.

Water schedule and PH reading would help to eliminate confirm the most common reason for sprouting issues.

There are several things that could be killing the sprouts.
#1 is overwatering. Soil should be slightly damp, too much water and you run the risk of fungus rotting the seed.
#2 I have seen the heating pads cook the seeds in certain situations. The pad is supposed to add 10 degrees to whatever the temp already is, but sometimes it goes higher. If you are running 70 to 80 without the mat then just try without the extra heat. My tent runs 66 at night and 80 during the day and my seeds sprout in two days after a 24hr soak. My soil is just damp, and I don’t water for at least a week after they come up. I keep a clear dome cover on them for the first two days.

1 Like