GSC Extreme Rookie First Grow

Hello all! I’ve been reading so much information, my brain hurts. So much info!

I’m a chef by trade and I believe in keeping things as simple as possible.

After deciding to try my first grow, I said I would keep it as possible.

I bought a Vivosun tent kit. It came with everything. 2’x2’x4’ tent, light, vent, glasses, clippers, and some accessories.

I started out by getting the GSC Auto Extreme seeds from ILGM. I started them in starter pads in a cut water bottle, and kept them in an old casserole dish with a reptile heat mat, and an old light from an aquarium I used to have. The seeds sprouted in no time. Maybe a few days.

It worked very well! The only thing I bought was the small reptile heat mat. Had the rest on hand.

I then transplanted into 5 gallon buckets once they were about 2" tall.

The buckets are set up with empty water bottles with holes at the bottom and top, then a watering pipe down the side. Then filled with Miracle-Gro potting soil.

I watered lightly from the top for the first week, with some in the bottom to keep the soil moist. Then watered via the pipe to water from bottom up. The buckets have a hole drilled into them about 3" up for overflow. The bottles act as small reservoirs.

The fan/exhaust runs 24/7 to maintain a somewhat consistent environment.

I use a SwitchBot temp/humidity tracker. It’s bluetooth and takes several readings and sends them to the app. You can track hourly, daily, monthly, and yearly. It was really cheap and I think a great investment.

Yesterday was about 16 days since breaking out of the soil. I started with two seeds. One didn’t sprout. So one plant is a week ahead of the other. Both seem to be doing good so far.

I’m just using a little Superthrive and liquid Miracle-Gro, and the soil has fertilizer in it.

I’m growing in a rather cold basement room so I have an automatic heater that kicks on to maintain temps. Humidity stays pretty consistent.