Growing soil advice

Hi All.
I would really appreciate opinion on growing soil.
This is available in Australia. Is this is suitable for plants or just plain soil without anything in it.

Its pre-fertilized which isnt ideal from what I have seen.
This is the ozy version of miracle-gro soil which is caused issues for alot of ppl.
I had it kill chilies on me before.
It has a slow release for normal plants so anything fast growing with run in to trouble getting ether too much or too little nutes from the soil and if you want to feed on top you could run into problems of deficiencies, lockouts or over fertilization.
Avoid slow release soils if you can and add your own.
Six months of slow release is along time in canna grow time.
I have never grown canna in pots of dirt so I am no expert on this at all.

Scotts professional promo

> Osmocote® Professional Premium Potting Mix

> Contains ScottsCoir™ for water retention
> Controlled release fertiliser included to feed for 6 months
> Professional grade wetting agent added to assist water penetration and good drainage
> Next generation water crystals added to retain moisture and release it as plants need it

1 Like

I’ve never been crazy about any big box brand potting soil, but have seen people make decent grows with them, but you definitely would need to add something like the permit to aid in drainage. Do some searches on building a soil, there is tons of info out there, and see if buying the necessary amendments and pieces are within your budget/skills. The results will be worth it, but each grower has their means or preferences. If stuck on using a bagged soil, look into a quality product like Fox Farms Ocean Forest. It’s really top notch stuff, and will make your grow easier and more productive.

1 Like