Growing in a greenhouse

Hi, I am brand new at this and have been reading all I can to learn. Most of the grow info here refers to either indoor or outdoor growing. I have a greenhouse at the farm, 10’ X 14’ that I keep some vegetables growing through the winter. I can keep it at at least 65F on very cold nights and the thermostats on the heaters are set at 68F. The greenhouse has 4 automatic overhead vents and door and or large window on each end. Even during the winter on a sunny day, the temps can get above 90F inside. I am ready to “learn” with a few seeds but I guess I am mostly confused with the light schedule for the plants. Unfortunately we have a security light behind and above the greenhouse, so it is never totally dark. I have ordered a 1000W LED grow light and wondering how to incorporate that with the sunlight throughout the day and the lack of total darkness a few hours every day based on what I read here.

1 Like

Id run my light a few hours in the morning and a few hrs at night to get the total 18hrs of “sun light” that would be a summer day for veg. Or you could do it at the end of the day, that part would be up to you. The light from the security light will be a problem when you get ready to flip to 12/12… I’d say you’ll have to move inside to flower because our days are getting longer.

2 Likes

Thank you, yes I may have to either rig something in the greenhouse for darkness or move inside as you suggest Right now I am getting just over 9 hours of light, so what you are saying is to supplement with the grow light to achieve 18 hours total, either all at once or in separate periods? Iots to learn.

1 Like

You may want to look at some auto flowering plants. Their flowering cycle isn’t typically light sensitive. If you grow photos the security light could potentially interfere with plants dark period, and the stress of that could cause flowering plants to hermaphrodite.

6 Likes