Germination + Seedling Stage

This is my first time growing by seed !

It has been one week since I received the Sweet Mix, which is Gelato, Zkittles and Sunset Sherbert.

I germinated my seeds and filled my tray with reverse osmosis water. Some popped overnight - after 4 days only 2 seeds did not crack.

I’ve planted my seeds into Rapid Rooter cubes and have my tray placed about 15 inches under a Vivosun 1000W LED light that is dimmed to 25% - suggested by manufacturers for germination.

I’ve had my light on a 24 hour cycle and one week after receiving my seeds, I have 20 out of 30 seeds sprouted - one of which snapped while pushing out of the plug.

Some of the first seedlings are already about 4 inches tall while others are right behind or still waiting to show signs of sprouting.

The Sunset is still developing its first set of leaves while the Zkittles is beginning to develop its second set of leaves. The Gelato is taking the most time to develop but seems to be growing the same.

Everything looks very healthy and happy ! How tall the seedlings are growing is just different than what I am used to seeing while growing cuts.

Sunset on the left, Zkittles on the right

Orange - Sunset, Purple - Zkittles, Green - Gelato

Any knowledgeable insights or advice would be greatly appreciated !

1 Like

Welcome to the forum.

Seedlings look stretched, which is a symptom of inadequate light.

You’ll want to think about your grow space in terms of how many plants you intend to grow, especially if indoors. You’re going to need a lot of space to grow out all of those seedlings. You’ll need ~40 watts of quality lighting for every square foot of mature plant canopy. Each plant is typically 4 to 5 square feet per plant at maturity assuming medium sized plants.

A Vivosun 1000W LED light might be sufficient for one mature plant. It is probably only 100 to 200 true watts of light.

6 Likes

I would turn the light up to 40% stop that stretch and I agree lot of plants for that light