Germination for RDWC

I am pretty new to growing about 3 years in and any help would be great. I was wondering what you guys and girls prefer to germinate your seeds in? And why do you prefer to do it that way. I am gonna run my first RDWC grow and kind of worried about it. I will have to germinate in either root riot cubes or rockwool. To be honest I have tried them two ways in the past and I had very bad luck and it was multiple times. Only way I have a success is glass of water then paper towel then into soil. I need help in a way that will work for RDWC. Thank you for any help you can provide.

Hello everyone does there own thing me personally i run dwc an i put a cup of light warrior seed starter right on top of my clay pebbles wet it down with ph water 5.7 put my seed in an 3 to 4 days shes up…i don’t like to transplant unless they are clones don’t like to cause the unneeded stress🤗

I lost $100 worth of seeds on my second grow and I was mad. The old cup of water and paper towel method had failed miserably. I created a thread called THE PERFECT GERMINATION METHOD IF YOU FOLLOW DIRECTIONS.

All I can say is a picture is worth a thousand words. Those seeds all grew to mature plants. That picture was taken 5 grows ago and I’ve not had a germination failure since.

Pepe

1 Like

I used the same germination method you did. Except instead of putting seed into dirt it goes into the little hole in a rockwool cube root down. I presoak the cubes into ph adjusted water and squeeze out most the water so it’s just heavy damp. Not dry not soaked. Then placed into a container with a clear dome. Keep warm and humid until the plants show roots at the bottom of rockwool. Then I placed into net pots with clay pebbles.

2 Likes

Ask ten people…get ten diff answers.

I run DWC. Aerated 5 gallon buckets. The hydrogen water soak method is a good start.