Foxfarm fertilizer vs Miracle-Gro

To experience cannabis growers.
I have questions about fertilizer.
I bought 5 Banana Kush from Robert B about a month ago. After a few newbie mistakes (this is my first time growing MMJ), I finally got all 5 looking healthy.

So far, I have used All Purpose Miracle-Gro (24-8-6) twice. After reading many posts online about fertilizer for cannabis, In general, cannabis growers seems to recommend and/or prefer to use Foxfarm’s fertilizer. I bought Foxfarm’s fertilizer from Amazon; 3 bottle set: Grow Big (6-4-4), Big Bloom (0, 05, 0.7) Tiger Bloom(2-8-4).

According to direction, Tiger Bloom is for a flowering period, but the other 2 (Grow Big and Big Bloom) is for seeding and Vegetate period.

My question is, why people prefer Foxfarm product vs Miracle-Gro? As far as required NPK ratio, it seems neither Grow Big nor Big Bloom doesn’t have enough NPK.

1. Is Foxfarm’s fertilizer really better than Miracle-Gro?
  2. Is Grow Big (6-4-4), Big Bloom (0, 05, 0.7) enough NPK that plants need during vegetative growth period?
  3. Is Tiger Bloom (2-8-4) ok to use when it is the time for the flowering period?

I am really new to growing MJ, but I really need to grow it successfully to get RSO from it. So, any help would appreciate it. I live in the state MMJ is allowed. However, getting 60gram of oil, the amount needed for the treatment of cancer, is nearly impossible to buy. It is over the limit to buy it even if it is available at the dispensaries, not to mention the quality (THC and CBD contents) of oil.

1 Like

Keeping it short and simple, 24-8-6 is the same as something like 3-1-.8. The only real difference is the amount it’s applied in. That’s why it’s referenced as npk ratio. How much nitrogen is respect to how much phosphorus in respect to how much potassium. So 3-1-2 can be 6-2-4 or 30-10-20. The ratio of one to the others is still the same, one is just mixed in a stronger or weaker solution.