For outdoor growers

Please, for your safety, remember to turn off your GPS tagging on the pictures you post.
There’s many stories on the net with people getting arrested after posting pictures online, not to mention computer savvy thieves whom want to capitalize on your hard work.

Happy growing.

4 Likes

strong advice!!

or just use a digital camera instead of your phone to take pictures.

2 Likes

Have never had my location turned on if I get lost it is on purpose

2 Likes

From day one when I get a new phone I immediately turn off all location services and GPS crap. Now a days someone can look up your location from an app on their phone if you don’t have the right settings changed! :v:

1 Like

All cameras tag the image even “turning it off”. I am a photographer and have programs and even photoshop will show the image info. It’s crazy how much info is there. If you registered the camera and did firmware all that info is stored on images. Address, ip, state, zip and you get it. If they want info they can get it.
All this is called metadata and it was originally designed to save my images from copy write infringement. This was done cause people were stealing images off the web and selling or using them, with metadata tagged it’s easy to prove. It stays with the image. So it’s going to be hard to really get rid of the digital finger print.
Just giving you the reason it is there and can’t be removed

2 Likes

@Givemefire on my phone when I just hit the all info on the photo’s I put in the Grow journal and the location the said no location available . Is it still embedded in there somewhere or are phones different than a camera ? I sure hope so or I will just have to abandon my journal or only describe . And I was hoping to enter the bud of the month in a couple years when I get better at this.