Flushing Coco pre-Flowering

Hi All,

I’ve been growing for a few years now in coco coir. I wanted to get your opinions on flushing because most of my knowledge is trial and error. I am new to ILGM but have used other forums previously. The community seems fairly smart and friendly here so I want to pick your brains.

BACKGROUND
Hydroponic Coco

How often do I water and how do I determine when to water: water daily, the amount is based on the weight of the medium

Indoor or Outdoor: indoor

Room size: 2x4

Light system: SF1000 and Vipar XS1000 (better of the 2 IMO)

Temps; Day, Night: 75

Humidity; 55

Ventilation system; fans

AC, Humidifier, De-humidifier: no

Co2; NO

Currently, I flush for a week with distilled water when I flip to flower. My thinking is to get all the remaining nutrients and salt out of the medium before switching to a flowering nutrient profile. I have had issues with salt poisoning in the final weeks of flower nearly killing my plants.

I’m simply looking for your opinions on my practice and any feedback or advice you may have.

1 Like

just a pic of the current plants

2 Likes

I started in coco coir. Was really interested in a hydo grow. I found that with the introduction of bacteria and microbes, my plants did better. I now add about a quart of composted manure or worm casting for every gallon of medium.

Sounds like experience talking and you have a good plan.

Can you define the flush for a week part…? Do you mean water to runoff as needed for a full week?

That feels like you’re depriving them of much needed nutrients for a pretty extended time.

If you really want to “clean the slate” you should be able to accomplish that in one large flush then immediately push in the flowering nutrients. Flushing won’t take nearly as much water as soil would.

@Nicky has a lot of coco experience and may be able to chime in though he’s runs autopots.

2 Likes

Good advice

1 Like