Flushing and interesting discussion

Morning/ evening everyone. I have read a lot about people that use synthetic nutes that flush their plant in order to have a smoother or better smoke yadda yadda.
I had always thought it sounded funny because the flowers have already taken in the nutrients and I heard a podcast yesterday with some big time grower mentioning exactly what I had thought.

So if you flush a week or two before harvest right, it only makes sense that all the nutrients are already inside 90% of your flower. Flushing it isn’t going to magically pull the nutrients out of your buds and /or trichomes that are already formed making it a better smoke.

My question is do you flush and if so why? ( I understand from the side of stressing it out to produce trichomes or whatever but the removing nutrients doesn’t make sense to me)

( I’m a newb obviously but just something I had thought of and heard someone more experienced same the same thing so that’s why I’m asking here)

1 Like

You arent trying to remove nutes from the flower. You are letting the plant use stored nutes so theybdont carry over. Why people fixate on the idea that you remove something is crazy to me. Like DUH! Also, a plant uses nutes to make flowers. Once flower is made, nute is used.

The flush is about allowing plant to use all stored nutes so you dontt end up with them in your smoke. It starts a breakdown of chlorophyll before you ever put them into a jar. Its kinda like a pre curing.

3 Likes

There are many ideas behind what you speak about…and many are not fact based but based on experience and a memory clouded with smoking … so eventually somebody does a side by side and shows at least in that particular grow that what we thought made a difference in the end doesn’t. I have changed so many of my old school self taught ideas based on real side by side comparisons…so there you go …to flush or not to flush really depends on what you believe will make your grow better

3 Likes