First timer - ready to LST?

Hello good ILGM people! After a small setback with my first pass (likely too much light and water at seedling stage…plus I think Jiffy peat pots did not help) I have some good progress with pass #2! Looking for advice on whether to start LST on this baby or wait. WW Auto in mid-Week 3 in Happy Frog. Looks like four nodes in with 5th starting to sprout, about 6 inches tall. Any advice welcome!

2 Likes

You’re doing well. Nice looking plant.

1 Like

Healthy looking LST in a week maybe maybe less. Keep a fan on it it really makes stem thick

1 Like

I started training mine around that size. I have a grow journal currently on day 43 have trained my plant almost every day if you want to check it out.

2 Likes

I’m feeling really panicked right now because I started training mind at day 20. Mine were nowhere as thick as yours I did it to expose the Bud sites because the fan leaves were so big. But they are still alive and growing. Hope I didn’t hurt the babies too much.

1 Like

1 Like

Besides looking thirsty in the last pic they look good

1 Like

Thanks for confirming I just watered I thought it was a little early but now I know to go with my gut.

2 Likes

You can get it started. Anchor the base like @mont did and bend in the opposite direction. keep after it as it grows.

1 Like

@MONT Thanks for the pics. I’m a noob but looks good to me.

Thanks all @beardless @MidwestGuy @Oheeeoh @Suckerpunch @MONT

Here’s the after pics of my first LST based on all the great advice. Look OK? One question… What to do with the shoots that end up on the underside of the trained plant (farther from light)? Leave them alone or prune them so energy goes to the shoots which are more exposed to the light?

1 Like

They should come up through the canopy. If they’re being blocked by leaves just tuck the leaves out of the way

2 Likes

Great question. On one of my recent grows I tried to answer that question.