First Time Trying To Clone

This is my first attempt trying to clone. I went into my veg tent today and did some super cropping and a little defoliation. Some of the plants I’m growing are starting to get really bushy and I can’t even see what’s going on in them, even having trouble finding a way to water them. So I thought before I start cutting them heavily and throw out whatever I trim this should be the perfect time to try cloning. I already have Clone x solution, gel. rapid rooters, and a propagation tray/humidity dome.

3 Likes

Good luck cloning is surprisingly easy and fun

8 Likes

Thank you! I’m just afraid of cutting too much of the plant haha

2 Likes

Have about 20 rapid rooters sitting in 6 litters of water with some clone x solution ph’d to 5.5. Gonna leave them in there over night and start cutting tomorrow.

2 Likes

Youd be suprised at how much you can take off and the plant will still survive. I routinely hack up mother plants to keep them small due to space restrictions

3 Likes

If I plan on using these same plants to flower should I cut off any of the main colas I topped to get or should I stick with side branches / offshoots ?

If you plan to flower soon i wouldn’t. Cut clones from the bottom. The growth you’d normally clear out that won’t reach canopy when it is in flower.

5 Likes

You can also clone your topping if you are going that route too. Any pruning you do that has 2 nodes you can clone. I usually hack down my mother’s pretty heavily, wherever i prune i make sure to leave 1 node so it’ll become 2 colas. let them regrow while flower tent is rocking and then clip off a clone from mother right before moving mother into flower side. Then newest clone becomes the new mother. Rinse and repeat

5 Likes

Thank you! I’ll post some update photo’s of the plants after they’ve been cut

1 Like

I am so excited, I wish to share.
YES it is so much fun.
Proud pappa, I am.