First time smoker to grower

Hello everyone,

My name is Kirstee and I’m 44 years old. Due to some chronic back issues and multiple surgeries, I decided to try cannabis for the first time in the summer of 2021. Within minutes of my first drag, I started to notice reduced pain, I couldn’t believe it.

After a few trips to the dispensary, I found 3 seeds at the bottom of my ¼ jar so I figured I would try to grow my own, I have no clue if these 3 plants will be male or female and I have no clue how to tell, I guess I have some research to do.

My setup – Please remember, I’m an absolute beginner and I expect to make mistakes, I know a bit about growing vegetables and herbs so hopefully this experience will help with the marijuana plants.

Light -GE LED 40W from Lowes

Humidifier - It’s just a standard humidifier for the house

Potting Mix
[Miracle-Gro 16-Quart Potting Soil Mix in the Soil department at Lowes.com]
lowes

I realize 40W light is not really appropriate so, I ordered this:
Mars Hydro ts 1000

I also ordered some Poly Film which will be used to cover the walls, floor etc.:
Amazon.com: VIVOSUN Black and White Panda Film 10 x 10’ 5.5 Mil Poly Film : Patio, Lawn & Garden

The grow room is kept at a steady 74 degrees Fahrenheit, I’m not sure of the humidity levels as I don’t have anything to measure this, so I’ll need to grab something at the shop.

I have been watering with distilled water only, I plan to add nutrients during the transplant. Do you know if lowes/home depot sell the right nutrients?

This is what I have so far:

I’m still researching and learning, and I am very open to any advice

Thank you

16 Likes

@kirstee welcome to the community
nice job on that plants, the light is not good for plant but that mars hydro you good to grown you plants

Should recommends nutrients and pH meter and one humidity meter and son fans that all you need for growing you plants

7 Likes