First time growing

This is my first time growing I ordered (5 gold leaf) (5 northern lights auto flowering) (20 blueberry auto flowering) on 5/26/2017 from ilgm I am waiting for my seeds to come . I have my lights set up in a closet 3’x5’x8’. With 5 100w cfl and 2 40w 4’ cfl I have a fan and ventilation in the closet as well . I am planning to start with jiffy pots 2 gold leaf 2 northern lights 3 blueberry and transplant to 3 gallon pots I was just wondering if anyone had any tips that might be helpful before I start

You may need stronger lights later through the grow maybe invest in them early on as well

1 Like

Ok. Light, get some cheap leds mars hydro or whatever you fancy, get a big tent 2m x 1m x 2m and get 8 plants in there. If advise 4 300 or 600w mars hydros as 4x 300w are only 200 bucks. You spent a mad amount on seeds with no equipment… it would seem?

4ft x 4 ft 8 bulb T5s are another good option

Thanks for the input i will definitely get new lights. But is what I have sufficient for starting the plants and then install the new lights for vegetative growth or do I need to get the lights from the beginning.

And yes I probably got a little carried away buying seeds but I wanted to be sure that I had extra just in case they didn’t survive

1 Like

@justin88
Autos grow VERY fast! You will need the lights in less then three weeks after sprouting. Just so you know. Also 7 plants is way over kill for a first time grow. Most don’t realize the time involved growing these plants to do it right.

2 Likes

If I go with led light should I get a 600w or 1000w

1 Like

@justin88 you need to know what the true wattage of the fixture is. I have 300W fixtures but the true out out is only 136W. Rule of thumb is 35W-50W per square foot of grow space. You have 3x5=15 sf. You’ll need 525W- 750W of light.

Just ordered a 1000w led light

2 Likes

What brand led light

1 Like

@justin88