First time grower...When are lights too close?

Hey friends, this is my first time growing this plant! I have plenty of experience growing other plants and vegetables that I have relied on.

This is my first plant…an autoflower critical purple. I am more than happy with how this plant turned out but one of the things I dont have any experience in is how far to put the lights. I have LED lights and the temp of my temp gets up to about 88f at the hottest but lately stays around 78-82, humidity stays around 30 at the spot I have the sensor at.

I had a nice looking plant although it started to slow down and stop altogether. It then went into flowering and at this point I realized i had not moved my lights since she was a few inches tall…I immediately raised them a foot and some change. I thought since she was already starting to flower for a week she would not get much bigger, but three days later she was noticeably taller.

What is the best way to determine the optimal distance from your plant?!
before

after moving lights

4 Likes

Led lights can be tricky. Check to see if manufacturer of light has recommendations. Nothing wrong with challenging those a little, just increase intensity gradually and watch how your plants respond.

3 Likes

Put your back of your hand over the top of your plant when the light hurts the back of your hand or is uncomfortable so is your plant move light up till your hand feels ok and so will your plant feel ok

2 Likes

But you have our go to guy so your already in good hands ,

1 Like

Plants will double in size when flower starts :), and I know the leaves will cup when getting to hot…and the ole hand trick can work.

3 Likes

Ya, that’s true. I just flipped mine yester day and I swear they grew 3’’ over night… lol

2 Likes