First Time Grower, using unknown cuttings what could go wrong

Hi all,

Disclaimer - Total novice

Right so I have been smoking for years and wanted to grow rather than keep buying, so I’ve sorted myself a little set up, then I found you guys and have been reading up.

Initially for my first grow was going to be 2/3 Green Poison Autos I purchased from a local seedbank. But last night in comes a big spanner and I got 17 unknowns dropped in my lap. All I know about these cuttings are that they are photos, that’s it, sorry.

I know we’ll never know the strain but any ideas on their rough age?

Can someone confirm what age you can sex? as I suspect there could be males amongst them.

Is there much difference from Autos to Photos?, obviously I know that autos have a set time line and photos listen to the light.

I have not been doing much reading up on photo’s as I was going to cut my teeth on autos, light cycle wise I was thinking of 18/6 then flip to 12/12.

My Light is a 600w omega Dual Spectrum and I also have a Dual 450w CFL light I can put in, would you recommend using both?

I Also have x2 400w HPS bulbs to use if needed.

Other info

I am growing in soil, feeding with PH’d tap water, and the nutes I am using are ADV Nutrients (Grow,Bloom,Mirco)

I can upload images later when I’m home.

1 Like

You will have to grow the seeds and then you will know what sex they are.

Welcome to the community. :+1:

Cuttings are taken from a (more or less) mature plant so as soon as they are fully rooted you should be able to determine sex.

You want roughly 50 watts per square foot from the plug. That should be your metric without any of us knowing your setup.

1 Like

Cheers, I’ll have a look and take some pictures for you guys.

My set up is only small, circa 5ft long, 4ft high and about 2ft deep. so working on that basis I have more than enough light.

Welcome to the forum!