First Time Grower. Tell me what you wish you had known/done

So I’ve been looking into the bits and pieces needed to start a grow. I am in a medical State and the growing law’s are: 16 plants Total. 4 mature, 12 immature. I need to be extremely careful to stay within the letter of the law if I’m going to grow. (For extenuating circumstances) This is my first time ever even considering growing so my thumbs are far from green. I would like to get the most bang for my buck since I don’t have many bucks to spare. (That being said I would rather spend money for the right thing now rather than more money replacing it later) I am looking at getting a 3’x4’ 2 In 1 tent. Specifically this one: Amazon.com
Obviously I’d like to have a perpetual grow setup givin my restrictions and I’d like to use LEDs (less heat, power, noise, etc) That gives me a 3x3 main grow and 2 1’x3’ clone/ veg rooms. I figure I would use a SOG net as well. That being said what do you guys think? Give me any ideas/tips/tricks you may have. Thank you for everything you guy’s are awesome!

1 Like

My first advice is: don’t buy lights from Amazon or Ebay: if the light is purple don’t buy it either.

There are a few recognized names building good quality and here they are: Horticulture Lighting Group (number 1 IMO), CHILled Logic, California Lighting Concepts and Spyder Farmer.

Everything starts with the lighting.

4 Likes

The first thing that comes to mind is - don’t start too many at once. As a beginner, it would suck to start a bunch of plants, invest a couple of months into them and then have something go wrong.
For your first time around, I would recommend starting 2 plants, waiting a month and starting 2 more, and so on.
This also helps keep you from being overwhelmed at harvest time.

Edit: Just to applaud what @Myfriendis410 said - lighting is your most important subject.

3 Likes