First time Grow & Journal - Durban Poison, Northern Lights

Hi all,

I am a true newbie when it comes to horticulture, having never grown anything in my life. I needed a hobby to occupy my mind, and what better hobby than growing something I love?

I’ve scanned through the forums and various other sites/books over the past few weeks while I gathered supplies, so I feel confident enough to take a swing at it myself. I hope that my perspective and reporting will be of use to the rest of the community…or if I fail horribly, good for a laugh.

My biggest constraint for this grow (and future grows), will be space. I’ve been given consent by the SO to have a setup in the closet…which presently only allows for a 2x2x4 tent. I’m hoping that any measure of success in the vegetation process of these two plants will grant me an opportunity for a bigger/additional tent to make growing 2 at a time feasible.

I’ve chosen Durban Poison for it’s reported affects on focus and energy, and Northern Lights for the anxiety/pain/sleep aid.

Supplies
•1x - 2’x2’x4’ grow tent, Mylar-lined with 4 holes for air flow.
•1x - 6 outlet surge protector
•2x - 6” 2 speed fans for airflow and exhaust. Will get 3rd to generate air into the tent if needed.
•2x - 5 gallon grow bags. Should provide plenty of space for roots to spread and not become root bound
•1x - Bloomspect 300w LED full spectrum lights
•1x - 8qt Black Gold organic potting soil+fertilize
•1x - water pH reader

Remaining - carbon filter, ph reader for soil, and additional soil, if needed.
—————————————————————