First time bud trimming. gummed up shears?

Hello everyone,
its my first time trimming and im noticing it doesnt take long to gum up my shears. im dry trimming. I was just wondering how others clean their shears. Im thinking of using alcohol wipes then let them completely dry before resuming trimming? I have 2 pairs of shears but they both gummed up within 20 minutes. Anyone have a fast effective trick for this little problem? Thanks

3 Likes

Also my buds are very airy and loose. They seem to be pretty dry. The steams snap but dont fully break. they have been hanging about 6 days. the sweet grass smell is gone and the skunky smell returning. are they airy and loose because they need more dry time maybe? will they firm up during curing any more? I plan to cure in jars with the humidity packs. Thanks again

1 Like

Everclear works best. Isopropyl alcohol works too but not as well.
Its a good sign when your scissors gum up.

And autoflowers are usually a looser bud structure that photos. Not always, but more often than not.
This has nothing to do with quality, its just a way they grow.

6 Likes

Ok thank you for all the help. these are autoflowers and I figured this plants was going to be airy and loose, just hoped it would firm up a bit more. Being my first grow I am super happy and stoked with the results! I cant wait to get final yield weight. It is looking better than I had thought it would. Im pretty much hooked on growing now. Im eager to get better. Thank for yaking time to answer my questions

8 Likes

You can clean them with everclear or alcohol, oooor you can “clean” them and scrape the gunk from them and your fingers and rub it all into a ball and get some hash hits.

5 Likes

My personal favourite. :point_up_2::point_up_2:
Got a few on the tray in frt of me now.

:v:

5 Likes

Nice. I like to use the finger hash to make little needle looking pieces and lay them in a joint.

4 Likes