First Grow -- Rate my setup? Confident but could use tips

Hello! I’m not a first time gardener–I’ve been growing vegetables for years–but I am brand new to growing cannabis. I’ve tried to keep up on all the research but I’m getting frazzled and could use a few friendly tips!

Here’s what I have. All of these items are still in their amazon boxes in case I need to return and replace something before putting my setup together.

• 3x3x6 grow tent (Vivosun)
    -AC Infinity Cloudline T6 inline duct fan (6 inch)
    -G Hydro 6" Air Carbon Filter (6x18 inch, 425 cfm) (i would have gotten the AC infinity filter but it was out of stock)
    -Vivosun 400w HPS wing reflector kit
    -I also ordered an iPower 190 cfm 4" inline duct fan, carbon filter, ducting combo because I was high and thought I needed it

Should I return the 400w HPS wing reflector kit and get a 400w air cooled hood? What about a 600w air cooled? Will the tent be cool enough? If not, should I go for an equivalent LED instead, to keep the heat down? These are some of the questions running through my head. I am not a beginner gardener and am looking forward to making my plants shine. I’m thinking about 3-4 plants in 3 gallon containers or 2 plants in 5 gallon containers.

Do I have the right idea? I’m frustrated because I understand the actual GROWING part of all of this well enough, it’s the logistics of putting these items together that’s frustrating me!! Any input would help. My end goal is a large yield of a high quality product for my own medical use. Thank you so much!

Are you planning on growing auto or photo plants?
Your method of growing will dictate how many plants you can fit in a 3x3. I run photos with a 4 week veg time and 1 plant easily fills a 3x3 space. In a tent I’d recommend a air cooled hood if you go with hps lighting . Hlg quantum boards are what seems to be the gold standard at the moment for led lighting .

1 Like