FIRST ATTEMPT FAILED! help me not make the same mistakes

Hello, I need help!

So I thought I knew what I was doing but It’s the 10th day after planting my germinated seeds and all nine seeds didn’t grow. I have a few ideas of what I did wrong, but before I start over I want to be sure. please bare with me as I run through my process step by step.

Germination:
SInce I’m a beginner I ordered the Auto Flower Mixpack including Amnesia Haze, Blueberry, and Northern Lights (5 seeds each). Since this was my first try I wanted to experiment with all three methods of germination with each strain (nine plants). Three I put in a shot glass of water and they all broke open after 3 days revealing a small tail. Three I put in a paper towel, didn’t see anything the second day, but on the third day a large sprout more then a 1/2 inch revealed out of 2 of the 3 seeds. The final three I just put straight into the dirt.

So far so good!

Pots and Soil:
Then I prepare the pots and grow room. I Put the seeds into small pots filled with “moisture control MIRACLE-GRO potting mix.” Next is where I may have gone, I planted the seeds more then a half inch deep, maybe too deep. I watered the soil before and after planting the seed.

So my plan was to begin the plants in a small DIY grow room until they are around Four inches then transplant them into their permanent homes on large pots in the window sill.

Grow Room:

I made a 16"x 16" box with the interior lined with tinfoil. just big enough for 9 of my small pots. I cut a hole in the top for one light. I added a small fan after I realized they weren’t growing as a desperate attempt to help.

Lighting: