Fertilizer guidance

Questions from a fellow grower:

I have some difficulties with the amount of fertilizer to use and the nutrients these fertilizers require.

My question is how do you know what type of fertilizer to use in which state (vegging and flowering).

When to fertilize and how often your plants need fertilization.

This is my first time growing and I want to start with my indoor grow op. I have all the components and I am just waiting the arrival of my seeds. I would like to give my plants the best possible care to grow and for that I would need to delve into the knowledge of people that have buds loads of experience :).

I am very confident with the setup I have just need some guidance with the food my plant will need.

So in short my questions are like these:

1. What nutrients the plant needs.
  2. How strong should the mixture be
  3. How often do I need to give fertilizer, and
  4. How can I tell when the plant is over or under fertilized.
1 Like

You came to the right place though your question is a tricky one I suspect will be a fairly hot topic since almost all growers use different fertilizers and have varied opinions on the matter. It really has very much to do with your budget and whether you seek to go organic soil/soiless coco sphagnum or hydro? other factors to consider would be what can be purchased local and on line.
First off if you are new to growing I recommend going with a MJ specific nutrient and feed system this will save you lots of frustration over the long run and is worth every penny. General hydroponics, Fox Farms and Advanced nutrients all make Cannabis specific lines and sell go boxes these include everything to get you started including feeding schedules tailored for your media. You will slowly learn your plants needs and wants n-p-k wise throughout a year or so of growing and as a rule when you want to experiment with new food or always best to do so with a known strain and only one plant as it won’t risk your whole crop.