Feminized seeds were 50% Male

I have been using ILGM seeds for the past four years with excellent results. I have been growing indoors and outdoors for 16 years.
During my grow last year I had a problem with the LSD feminized seeds, where 4 plants out of 8 turned Male during the flowering stage during an outdoor grow. This seed LSD-FP20 package was BIN:03:10:08, 363660503 There are 12 seeds left in this package, which I am hesitant to plant.
Does anyone know of anything that can switch the sex of a growing plant? I am at a loss to explain this situation, unless the seeds were not feminized.

3 Likes

I don’t think they switch, I think theyre born male. The only turn is when they hermaphrodite. Which indicates an accident in packaging or you got the unlucky 5% or whatever it is.
I hope somebody checks my thinking and censors me if I’m wrong…

2 Likes

Or pollinated by others surrounding.

2 Likes

Unfortunately things happen, our reactions are what ultimately determine if it’s going to be detrimental or beneficial, sounds like you’re handling the situation well and with your experience likely didn’t suffer adverse effects. Hopefully you pulled them early enough if they were true male plants, hermaphroditism is a different animal.

I don’t know what the protocol is for the seeds through ILGM but my understanding is that they’re fantastic when it comes to issues like this.
I think I’d just run the remainder of the seeds like they were regular seeds, watching for male and female reproduction parts. It’s crappy cuz they were feminized seeds, but I’d be happy I had a learning experience built into the crop.
Contact customer support. I’m sure they’ll square it up.

4 Likes

Yes Stress can cause one to change sex. Outside the culprit is usually over fertilization or crap people spray on cannibis for bugs, underwatering, over watering, or little to no nutes. If it was one I would say bad seed but being you had several I’m thinking stress induced.

1 Like