Fan failure and bulb overheating

hey everyone. i had a question that has been bothering me recently. so i have been running a 600w HPS HID bulb. 600w ballast obviously. all sun systems. the reflector is the yield master (air cooled enclosed in tempered glass) the fan i have is a can fan 6" that pulls air through the yield master.
everything works great and i have had many successful grows. its been about a year ive been running this stuff about 12 hours a day for light and 24 hours for fan. sometimes i have to work at night because im a cook so i have timers that run the system automatically incase im rarely not home. im curious what would happen if the fan were to suddenly fail and the bulb would be allowed to get way too hot? does the ballast shut off of if the temperature gets too high? or does the bulb explode and my house starts on fire? thanks to anyone that took the time to read and possibly answer about any xp.

2 Likes

I had a dual 400w HPS and 400w MH. I never air cooled it. I got hot but never overheated. The problem I Ramiro was keeping the ambient low inthe grow room

i see. well thanks for your input. i also forgot to mention mine is in a grow tent. “the big easy” by sun hut. curious if there some sort of auto shut off for the ballast if the bulb overheats

1 Like

I’m not really sure. Mine is about 30yrs old and I don’t think there is a temp failsafr

You don’t have any thing to worry about i was running 2 600w lights mh and hps bulbs in gullwing reflectors with no problems at all using a 440cfm 6in fan and now i have cool hood reflectors. The thing you will need to check on is your filter when it cloggs your temperature are going to spike i had temps of 97 when my filter clogged. I have never heard of a bulb exploding before. Im using a 4x4x6 grow tent and getting good results. I hope this helps you

1 Like