Drying help needed- I’m setup, but lack knowledge on what to expect

Hey guys Newbie here, I just set up a 2x2 drying tent with 4” exhaust fan on top with a monkey fan on the bottom, I hooked up the InkBird control.

I just cut down my first plant last night useing a friend’s automatic trimming machine, so all the buds, leaves are off the stalks and pretty much completely trimmed,I have one of those hanging cloth Meesh bags with multiple compartments, buds are nice and evenly distributed in about four of those compartments,

My question is that the current rh reading is 64%.my setting to shut off is 50%, the buds already feel kinda dry since putting them in there last night,is this normal will the 64% go down as they dry more? Am I doing this properly? I think I listed all info lol.

Thank you for your help. This is fun but I stress myself out, why I don’t know hahah

3 Likes

such is life as a Marijuana grower…I suggest getting the RH down below 55% if you can…at 64% and in the hanging drying bag you will surely fight mold if your buds are tight…

3 Likes

Ok thanks but that 64% should go down as they dry with the fans operating correct?

No…you are measuring the air around the buds and that is not the moisture in the buds…for that you need a moisture meter…since you removed from the stalk you cannot rely on any old school techniques like the snap test…

1 Like

Ok thanks for your help, I guess at this point I will just put them in mason jars on Friday and hope for the best.

I did order those little digital rh meters for the jars, they should be in by then

1 Like

did you get any Boveda packs??? they will help to keep the RH stable in the jar…You may want to consider the GROVE bags for curing instead of the jars…you can check you buds for dryness by compressing one and if it feels dry but springy you pry a little bit off and use the snap test in someway to determine if it is ready…

Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it, enjoy being retired :grinning: