Does anybody reuse soil after harvest?

Does anybody reuse soil after harvest? If so, How?

1 Like

I’m sure @MrPeat reuses soil. I’ve done it by mixing in organic manure etc but my success has been limited

2 Likes

So I read that your suppose to pour boiling water over it to sterilize it then come back and add a lil more potting mix or perlite and peat moss maybe some compost as well. I’m just curious I know soil it’s that expensive but… yeah its not like I can just dig a whole in a my back yard

2 Likes

Yup…I reuse the same soil for years. You just start adding nutrients real fast is all. I do not add anything to the soil except nutrients. :+1::+1::+1:

7 Likes

So once you finish with the plant you dump all the soil in a container or something… what’s your process after you harvest your plant

I chop the plant. Take out the root ball and stalk. Plant seeds. Add nutrients about 1 week after breaking soil.

Rinse and repeat. That is all. :+1:

I have been doing this since May 2018.

5 Likes

Ok wow the dirt I have now is kind of stiff and I did just water it this morning but even then it still kind of stiffed up once I transplanted and it has grown a lot since germination… this is my first grow but if you say I can reuse it… I’ll reuse it… I still might just drop boiling water on it and let it drain before I put another seed in it

1 Like

You can do what you want. You just need the roots gone. Personally I have never worried once I pull the root ball out. I just made things as I went along. I didn’t join a grow forum till Sept 23rd, 2019 and I started growing May 2018.

You can add soil if it gets low. I was using 5 gallon buckets with it only filled about 1/2 way. I was still able to grow over 7 foot monsters.

I now use fabric pots and the soil is still loose. :+1::+1::+1:

6 Likes

What fertilizers do you use and I’m assuming you don’t transplant either you just drop that one seed and call it a day