Different strains, different grow rates?

I have three strains growing in separate pots, all autos, under good light-- about 2000 watts of light from VIPAR Spectra LEDs for 6 plants, in Happy Frog soil. All are in identical soil, water, and lights. The Northern Lights and Auto Kush are growing like crazy at 3 weeks, with 4 nodes of strong growth. But the White Widows are about a third as tall, and the nodes are very close together, each layer of new leaves almost directly on top of the layer below.

I have grown Northern Light autos from seed several times, but this is my first time with the other strains. Is it typical to have such a big difference between strains? Are White Widow autos typically slower-growing? I’ve wondered, since plants stretch out under low light, if my ‘compressed’ plants are from too much light?

2 Likes

@siggy12

Yeah all strains will grow at slightly different rates and will respond to the environment differently.

I wouldn’t worry at all about it though- tight nodes = denser buds!

3 Likes

Yes there is a big difference in growth rates for different strains. I’ve never grown autos before, but I’m pretty sure white widow grows like crazy I could be wrong. Best fill out a support ticket to be sure. Stunted growth in seedlings is most times a ph issue. But not all ways.

3 Likes