Defoliation reference photos?

Hey everyone, I want to defoliate my 4 week old AH autos and I’m looking for some good quality before/after pics. Im super nervous cuz it’s my first grow, so anything that can help me set a clear expectation would be super helpful. I’ll keep searching around of course but I figured I would ask in the open as well…

Thanks!

2 Likes

@scylents. Don’t have any pics of before and after but just be aware that if done incorrectly with autos you can stunt them and cause decreased yield.
Better to tuck as many as possible as long as you can.
With autos I’ll only remove the occasional light blocking fan leaf. Think of them like light gathering solar panels.
The more that are removed. The less potential for full healthy growth. :wink::v:

3 Likes

I’ve got no experience with autos myself but I’ve always heard NOT to defoliate them. I can’t suggest you do or don’t though, just telling you what I’ve heard.

2 Likes

I have but I learned from @BigDaddyCain he’s much more knowledgeable than me. Here’s his journal.

3 Likes

In my opinion, I would stick with defoliating photo plants. Autoflowers don’t like many leaves removed. They can handle light leaf removal and LST though. I’ve grown Amnesia Haze Auto. Its great daytime smoke.

4 Likes

When I started my current and first grow, I was unaware of the rules of autos. Both my plants started in jiffy pellets, then solo cups, then 1 gallon pots, then 5 gallon grow bags. Both were topped and defoliated. The one on the right is the auto, the left is a photo. I won’t ever worry about autos lol.

4 Likes

@Oldguy @GreenJewels @elheffe702 @repins12 @Psu8286

Two pics… one w/ no marks, one with so you can see what I’m thinking…

I want to remove two fan leaves. I want to take away the yellow or the red. Not both…

But if the fan leaves should stay then I won’t touch her…

3 Likes

@scylents. I wouldn’t touch the ones in red. Too close to the top. If I was going to remove any it would be the yellow ones.