Defoliating advice needed :

Hey all, I’m new and this is my first try. They are coming along pretty nice now.They had a rough life at start of clones because I didn’t have a room for them. Now they are taking off and i need to start thinning these things out but am scared to start cutting lol. Any advice would be appreciated. Hope I am getting this out there right. Have never posted on any page like this so trying to figure it all out.

1 Like

Also is it a good time to pull the clones off now ?

Hello Potman22, I’d start clearing out the underbrush before going into flowering. Bottom third of the plant is not going to get a lot of light in flowering and produce small larfy buds, best to trim them off and make clones with them. Then in week 3 of flowering ditch the large fan leaves so the bud sites can get more light.

3 Likes

OK, So they are good for now then I guess except I should do the clones soon hey ?

1 Like

Soon or right before going into flowering is a good time for clean up and clone taking.

4 Likes

Thank you very much Hellraiser. I’m really liking this hobby but sure have a lot to learn lol.
Thanks again

3 Likes

When they get this size and you defoliate them you won’t even be able to tell in 24-48 hours. When you get into flower around week 3 you’ll need to do it again for any leaves blocking prime sites and then I follow up and finish at week 4 to make sure there are no little suckers taking away from the main colas.

3 Likes

This is all solid advice. Almost exactly what i do.

4 Likes

Hey, do you mean after I switch to flowering to do the defoliation? Sorry for questioning but I really don’t know what to do yet, I still have to learn/read/watch video of how to clone and defoliate. I only know what week it is since I transplanted and put them in the new room. Kinda looks like my room isn’t big enough for these plants lol. That’s why I was wondering about trimming now.

Defoliating now is good. And again week three of flower.

1 Like