Conditions for late flower, questions

Just me again. I’m still pretty new to growing and had started in the winter so low rh was my only real problem but with spring here I feel like I may run into some high humidity issues soon. I’m currently as high as 52% RH in late flower and one plant has some pretty fat dense buds. I have two good size fans going at least moving the air but I’m starting to wonder if that’ll be enough.
I guess my main question is what would be a good way to control the humidity inside my (39"x39") tent?
If I put my 50pint dehumidifier inside the temp jumps to at least 85 which I feel is a bit high so I wasn’t sure if a smaller one would be any better or what other options I might have?

Your best bet is to control the room the intake air is coming from.

6 Likes

You could try to vent the dehumidifier exhaust out the tent. It might take some duct tape and mcgyvering.
Dbrn32 has the best solution. It’s what I do.

1 Like

Yeah that was the goal originally but in order to keep the humidity down I need to run both the window ac and a 50pint dehumidifier which puts my (10’x10’) room at about 60degrees and30-35% rh, and the tent between 65-71, but still 50% rh with the lights on, or at least on these rainy days. So I’m not sure how much lower I can really get it without adding something to the tent and/or maybe even getting a bigger tent just for the air flow? Either way I may end up harvesting one of the two plants in the next few days just to be safe.

1 Like

There are a number of less invasive ways (passive) to reduce temps and lower RH.

The first is; run your exhaust fan intermittently. I have mine on a remote thermostat to maintain the peak temps in my grow space. This cuts down on the amount of air exchanges to keep your dry air in.

A physical divider between the lights and the space above the lights can be isolated and exhausted separately from the grow space. This with an exhaust fan works really well.