Compost basics?

Hey all, I am new to the organic game and want some guidelines for composting. For example, what is the ratio of carbon material (leaves, grass cuttings etc.) to nitrogen material (horse manure, earthworm castings etc.). Also how do I get microbes to house in my compost? Do I need blood or bone meal? I’m trying to learn from @Mrcrabs he has some amazing compost going with black soldier flies. Any and all advice and tips is appreciated thank you and have a great day.

1 Like

I’m about to brew up some compost tea using the bacterial recipe that @garrigan62 suggests. Only thing is I didn’t add any fish emulsion because I left it at my grandma’s lol. I’ll post some pics later

How’s it going buddy… my compost is a mix of peat moss … coco coir…biochar… bone char… perlite … vermiculite… gypsum and my old pots from previous grows… I layer on top with nothing but fruit and vegetables… let rot so it can attract BSF… once the flys lay eggs … the larvae get to work breaking down the fruit and vegetables… then I use that dirt in the bottom of my new grows… so I don’t durn you’re plants… all kind of insects will be attracted to your compost and Mother Nature will take its course… good luck… it’s an unconventional type of composting… more like superchargering your old soil.:+1:

4 Likes

Hey Mrcrabs I’m doing good thanks for asking. Thank you for all the awesome info and stuff on the bsf. It looks like a blast raising up all those flies from larvae! I think I probably need more fruits and veggies in my compost pit. I’m in western colorado here and am not sure if we have the bsf but we will see. I’ll keep you updated. I might even go buy some produce at the grocery to attract the buggies. Muchos gracias :crab: man

1 Like

Here’s where they have been spotted in the wild… they might be in your area…

1 Like