Cloning without a mother

I am new at growing and want to make a few clones from a vegetative feminised high CBD strain. I wanted to clone but don’t have space or time to for setting up a separate tent. My question is, Can i take a few cuttings and grow them along side the original?

6 Likes

@boogiemann22 Welcome to ilgm :v: that is a great question. I’m new to cloning, I usually cultivate from a seed. Let me get you some help. @Jbum @DoobieNoobie @Haildamaged @PurpNGold74 @Grandaddy013 @GreenJewels @Gremmall @Mrcrabs

3 Likes

@boogiemann22 , welcome my friend, it’s very possible, there are many different ways of cloning, Let’s up know what method your going for, good luck my friend,

2 Likes

In my mind light is light and the plant doesnt care where it comes from as long as it suits its needs. Not too much and not too little. Not too strong and not too weak. If you’re on 18/6 I dont see the problem. If you’re on 12/12 to flower then it wouldn’t work to veg photos on that light schedule but autos can I read. Welcome to ILGM @boogiemann22 and good luck. I’ll be cloning for the first time in the next couple of weeks so I’ll be watching to see how you do :cowboy_hat_face:

3 Likes

I frequently take cuttings while in veg (normally late veg due to flowering space timing constraints) to clone. Works just fine.

I also take cuttings in early flower (monster cropping) for clones but this is a bit more challenging and takes some time to get them to reveg.

I don’t maintain a mother plant, just clone whatever I am growing if the plant interests me.

2 Likes

Yes, as long as your lights are not on 12/12. I’ve done clones alongside vegging plants

3 Likes

Im keeping 8 clones on Veg by moving them from the tent to a balcony to keep them on the light.
I’m not even measuring the time beyond not letting them go 12 hours in complete darkness.