Cheaply lighting a 3x3 tent with DIY light strips

I know, I’m not the only one on a budget, who is sick of the blurple led’s. I want better penetration with fewer actual wall watts used and less heat. I currently use 2 led lights running 520 actual watts.
I’m new to this all. I have the most basic of wiring skills. I can soldier if need be; though, looks like the Wegos resolve the need. I will be running in series and not parallel as shown here:

Design was chosen from http://ledgardener.com/diy-led-strip-build-designs-samsung-bridgelux/
Thanks @Aolelon for that link. Also @dbrn32 @MattyBear @BIGE @MattyBear @Covertgrower @1BigFella and more from, Let’s talk diy lights thread.

12 Likes

i’ll never purchase another blurple light @Budbrother

8 Likes

Did you decide on an led package yet?

1 Like

Nope I just ran to the bank ta deposit the check. Got home and created this quickly. Time to roll one, then begin.

5 Likes

Awesome! You’re in good hands with @dbrn32 and the other DIY-ers here :v:️:+1:

8 Likes

Basic strip and COB knowledge: Wire these in series and don’t run near their maximum current. They are not very efficient at maximum current. Better to buy more strips or COBs up front and run at lower current. These are going to last for years, so you will have lower electric bills for all that time.

5 Likes

I really don’t know where to begin or where to go to look for parts. I’ve heard Arrow mentioned, but that requires knowing parts numbers. I don’t even know what all I actually need.
Maybe this should be renamed, diy lighting for dummies lol

8 Likes

If you look around your area for a metal supplier and find one close to you call for 1" or 1 1/2" u channel. I found a place close to me that sells it for 2.09$ a foot