Cat Dad’s Five Strain Fiasco

Hey all,

I’m a rookie with some lofty goals, so I hope you will enjoy reading through this grow and much as I’ve enjoyed learning about this hobby throughout the process. Be warned, you’ll read some cringy stuff from my earlier days (We’re talking window sill setup and Miracle Grow). As the grow continues however, hopefully you’ll see the positive changes that take place – from window sill setup to fully ventilated 4x4’ tents with full spectrum LEDs. I still have a lot to learn, but I’m certainly leaps and bounds more knowledgeable that before.

I’ve posted sporadically and randomly before, but as I’ve learned my way around the forum, I realize in hindsight a post under the “grow journal” category would have been more helpful for continued feedback from the community. That said, allow me to reintroduce myself and my first time grow. I’m currently in the second week of a 12/12 light cycle, but will be back logging my progress thus far. I currently have five strains growing, one of which is an autoflower (I know, I know, terrible planning in hindsight, but we’ll address that in the next post).

Currently I’m growing ILGM White Widow Auto, ILGM Big Bud Fem, ILGM Chocolope Fem, ILGM Amnesia Haze Fem, and a mystery strain pulled from some seedy bud (Cherry Pie, according to its origin source).

My journey started when I purchased bud that had seeds in it. I half jokingly wanted to grow them in my window sill as a novelty for when family and friends came over. And so began my grow of the first four Cherry Pie (?) seeds around November 2021. Surprisingly, they grew quite well with almost no knowledge at the time. I continued letting the first four do their thing until February when my first ILGM seeds came. This brings us finally to the “birthday” for all the plants I have growing currently: 14 Feb 2022. To be continued in the next post …

A picture of the “first four,” whose clones still survive today in my current grow.

12 Likes