Cannabis-relevant trivia for fiction writer

Hello! I tried to create a separate topic/thread for this, but the system won’t let me (I assume because I’m new.) I’m posting here because this thread is the most recent and seems pretty relevant…

My name is Sara. I’m a fiction writer, looking for some realistic details for the backstory of one of my characters. It isn’t a major part of the book, but I want the couple of scenes where we see his memories to be accurate and realistic. I’m hoping some people on here will help me out by answering a couple of questions and maybe also giving me some fun details/jargon/slang etc. that I can include. :slight_smile:

My two specific questions are these:

1. My character is a college student now, about 20 years old. I’m wanting his backstory to include him having helped out on his parents’ farm (in Michigan) before coming to college at age 18. I’m guessing it probably isn’t legal for a minor to work on a weed farm, but is it realistic it could have happened anyway on a family owned farm?

2. My character is deathly afraid of spiders. I know from my research to date that marijuana is a very sensitive crop and is grown under very careful conditions, even when grown outdoors. I want to have a memory/dream scene where he encounters a big spider while working on the farm–is this reasonable, or are insects/arachnids so carefully controlled he likely wouldn’t have encountered one?

And again, I’d love any other details or fun facts that would help make these flashback/memory scenes as realistic and fun as possible.

Thank you!!

~Sara Blake

4 Likes
  1. Its not only probable but likely. Though it would be illigal. Given your stated location and age of subject its likely an illigal grow to begin with though. Now you could take several routes with that. I personally worked on an indoor grow(breifly) as a young teen for my dads 1% motorcycle club. They were very protective of me and would have beat my ass for smoking it tho… weird huh?