Brand new shiny grow... from go

It’s my goal and desire to document this grow from its beginning. If I can share with another *new grower anything via my successes (or failures) I will be happy, as well as the inspiration I get from keeping this journal! :slight_smile:

Humidity, ppm and pH meters coming today as well as pH up and down liquids, tomorrow rapid rooters come, so will start soaking four fem Northern Lights toinght…

-hope you enjoy my grow journal!

I’ve got a bunch of questions, my first one is…

For now I only have one tent and I’m likely going to have autoflowers mixed with regular, would you use a 96000 lumen super blue halide or a 90000 agro HPS if you had to use one or the other?

(Edit: I’m not a *new grower, but I feel like an absolute beginner. I stopped 21 years ago but I do have almost 10 years growing and 5 years breeding experience, I’m counting on some of that knowledge comming back, as well as the great input & articles I get here)

-thanks

8 Likes

I feel that by going slowly as I set up this new effort, and with the input and the experience of the staff and growers here I will get my grow room setup pretty much functioning the way it should and avoid a lot of the hit and miss, and hopefully I can pass that on in some small way…

Question: Regarding space, using 3 gallon pots in a 4x4, would you recommend 4 or 5 plants?
(I’m using a 600 watt HID, topping once but not scrogging)

-thanks

Personally I run 2 plants topped in my 4x4 and they fill it out nicely. You can always run the MH from start to flower and switch bulb to hps either when you want or a week or so after flower. I keep my MH in until stretch is over, about 2 weeks or so before I switch to hps. This is to reduce height mainly because I veg for several months. Growing autos as well it will be up to you. You will gain bud density in the autos while waiting for you photos to develope where you want using HPS, but may increase lankiness between nodes.