Brand new, saying hello!

Hi all. Brand new to growing. We totally weren’t ready and germinated 4 seeds. These are my experiment batch to learn how to grow. Needless to say, I had no soil no equipment. Honestly I didn’t even expect them to seed at all. I got a “handful” of seeds from a friend who’s been saving them from bags for years.
I don’t have a timeline either. It’s been a few weeks and we’ve already lost 2 of 4. We had them in too dense soil and of course were over watering. I’ve since done a ton of reading and have tried to save the other 2. Bought a bunch of coco online a light etc.
I was getting desperate ( my supplies haven’t showed up yet). So to get them out of this bad soil, I purchased orchid medium. It’s just SUPER coarse. Looks like it’s working though. I’ll see if I can upload some pics. I’m so excited… thanks for all your great help, I’m just getting started!

This is the same seedling. It looks so much better!

7 Likes

Welcome to the forum. A lot of great info and growers here. What type of lightning are you using?

2 Likes

Right now these babies are in the window light only. I had no idea they’d sprout so quick. I have a 300w LED coming, but it’s gonna be a week. Today I’m putting them in my closet with a few CFLs just to keep them happy. I actually thought these 2 wouldn’t make it. So now I’m scrambling to keep them alive until all my stuff comes in. The orchid mix holds zero water, so now we’re watering twice a day. Keeping our fingers crossed these girls get strong!

1 Like

Welcome!!! Cool beans man its gonna be fun

2 Likes

Welcome.
Be careful not to over water your baby’s. I’m sure someone with way more experience will be by shortly to help you… :seedling:

3 Likes

hello!! welcome @Minnow55

2 Likes