Blown LED Lights

Hi we had a power failure last night. Came home from work today and found my lights do not work, both are out. What would be the first thing to look for?

1 Like

It’s a bird!

No it’s a plane!

No it’s ! @dbrn32 to the rescue!

3 Likes

@HearBob check the power cord. I’ve had one fail, catastrophically. After that you’ll probably have to open her up and start there.

1 Like

Assuming you tried another another receptacle on a different circuit not using a power strip?

How good are you with a multimeter?

1 Like

It has been a while. I was an EE/ME student for 3 yrs of a 5 year program. Have studied Coding, CNC & Robotics. Boy that was a lifetime ago. Have a couple of digital multimeters around here, someplace.

1. Checked power cords. They are OK, powering another set of lights now. The tent had 4 250w draw LEDs. I was using 2. Only have a single plant right now.

2. Replaced the surge protectors.

Trying to figure out why both lights went kaput. I did not check the tent after work yesterday. Had a long shift & knew today would be longer. Will try to work on the tomorrow. It will be rough. Having the gutters replaced in the morning, a medical procedure in the afternoon.

With the power surges could I have blown an internal fuse, ballast or a power converter.

Thanks Guys!!!

2 Likes

You could’ve, but I figure it’s not all that common and for it to happen to both at same time, well that’s why I was thinking power strip or something.

If your wall power is good and nothing between receptacle and lights is bad, then next thing I would ask is if you’re under warranty? If not, I would pop the cover off and take a look around. Test input voltage to make sure drivers are getting power, and make sure dc output matches driver nameplate.

1 Like

what should be between the light and wall. a surge protector? I know that cords for the lights are good.