Black light during lights off?

A friend just recommended that I should run a black light for my autos during the 4 hours of lights off time. I am new to growing and tried researching it and seen some information about UV lights. Is that the same as a black light? Also is this recommended or beneficial for autoflower plants? Ive been given some pretty folklore advice about growing before from this friend. Im not saying thats the case here, but I wanted to seek advice on it before doing it. Thanks

4 Likes

What @Blastfact is saying is true. Uvb light is strong and can and will burn your plants easily and should come on for the last half hour of your light cycle during the last few weeks of flower. Uva light is easier on your plants and will benefit by being on while your flowering lights are on from week 3 of flowering till the end.

3 Likes

No benefit of doing it at lights out really.
If it was photos then absolutely not as it is light period.
But if its autos then it shouldn’t hurt them but theres no reason to run it at night and while black lights can sometimes have some uv, its not enough to do anything fir them.
Now I am on the side of uv at minimum helps pull color out as i ran an experiment last year with a some purple cookies clones and the one under uv was dam near black it was so purple and the others grew with no uv had just a tiny bit if color.
Some claim it increases terps and potency but i saw no difference in these areas with my one amateur experiment.
They was absolute fire though from the start so mabe the pheno was pushing max levels anyway, it very well could pull a 20%thc over 25% but if its pushing 30% all ready it may not go any higher :man_shrugging:

So add uv with the regular light schedule if you want to but i don’t believe a bkack light is worth running at any point from the videos I’ve seen talking about good uv sources…

4 Likes