Best soil to use for a 5 gallon grow bag

Hey folks,

What are some suggestions on soil to use for a 5 gallon grow bag? I want to delve into Hydroponics but until I earn my wings (I am a newbie), I am sticking with soil. With that said, I would like the best soil possible. Thanks :slight_smile: !!

Coco coir is a good way to get your feet wet with hydroponics but with the soil “feel” I’m on my first ever grow and chose coco w/ perlite and I love it.

2 Likes

I use the fox farms ocean forest product, i grow soil only… really good product. Just don’t start your plants out in it, use this soil when plant gets its roots established then transplant into the Fox Farm soil…soil may be too hot for :seedling: seedlings

3 Likes

@Zombo - I have heard the product name before and assumed it was media for growing hydroponically. I will look for it! I have one plant going now using the best Miracle Grow potting soil I could find … Not sure that was the correct route but honestly, I never thought this “rogue” seed I found would even grow into anything … Thanks for the advice. Have a safe weekend.

1 Like

@Watt-Sun - I can mix Coco Coir with potting soil to enhance the water retention, correct?? I am new at this but extremely eager to learn …

2 Likes

I have heard of others mixing it but I’m not sure as to the reason why. It’s either to help with retention or drainage I’m not sure. I use 50/50 coco and perlite.

2 Likes

Yes, you can do that. I mix FFOF with coco and perlite to lighten it up a bit. It works great.

6 Likes

@raustin - Thanks for helping me out with all of this!

3 Likes

No problem, just tag me if you need more help. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Fox farms is soil, thought that’s how you said you would start, may have misread… miracle grow has time release muted and most everyone doesn’t use it but good luck… I have used a miracle grow seed starter mix which is very low in NPK @Poseidon… hope you have an awesome weekend