Beginner here! Grow room test run advice

Hey all,

I’m planning my first grow after some serious research. I took into consideration the advice of many experienced growers and have what appears to be a basic, but decent grow tent setup. I was just wondering if anyone would be willing to give me some advice on a few things:

First, I’m in the process of germinating my seeds and am doing so using the paper towel/Damp cotton method. I’m in the New England area and it has been averaging 60-70 degrees during the day and roughly 40-45 at night. Given we have just entered May, I am anticipating the temperature and humidity will change pretty significantly in the coming weeks. That being said, I have been trying to get a feel for climate control in my grow room. Over the past day or two, I ran my grow light and fans as I would if the plants had sprouted to get a feel for the temp/humidity.

My humidity was averaging very low, 39-42% while the temperature was mid to high 70s without the exhaust fan, and about 70-73 with the exhaust fan on. I read that when your exhaust fan is on (I have the fan connected to a carbon air scrubber as well) it should create a gentle pull/vacuum within the tent and mine is doing that so I think I set it up correctly? I guess my questions are these:

1. Should I introduce a small humidifier to my grow tent/the room my grow tent is pulling air from? Will this help at all to stabilize the humidity? I will be monitoring the temp and humidity very closely anyway and I was thinking of seeing if I could put a timer on the humidifier and have it come on a few times a day or something to just boost the humidity a bit. I am aware that too much humidity and I could be stuck with mold or root rot.