Autoflower vs no vegetative stage photoperiod

Hello,

I’m new to cannabis all the way around. I’m 50. I started smoking 9 months ago (my first real buzz) for medical reasons and smoking really helps not to mention that being high is great too.

To my question, I have been researching for a few months now and have not found anyone comparing the grow methods. I have very limited vertical grow space 40’’ tall. I need to stay under the radar. LED lights 250w, 36" W x 24" D x 40" H grow box, soil in 3 gallon bags, venting, fans, ph soil tester, filter, ect. I believe I have almost everything in need except seeds, soil, and nutrients. What would be better, autoflower or no vegetative stage on photoperiods? Any pros or cons? Which would yield better, produce higher THC, is easier to grow with the available space?

I feel like a kid with a new toy. Thanks for any advice. Any personal recommendations on a strain for nausea and depression?

3 Likes

Welcome to the community! Couple of things pop-up here …

Do you mean a probe with the moisture meter and lux meter? If so, invest in a BlueLab or Apera pH meter. Much more reliable. Not really cheap, but very good tools. You will need to make sure you water/feed is properly pH’ed.

You will also need a TDS meter to check your PPM’s (parts per million) when mixing nutes, or to check runoff. Cheap on Amazon.

From the floor? A 3 gallon bag is about 9-10" tall.
30" is really short, if that’s the case, which brings me to…

Definitely photoperiod. Autos kinda do their own thing and normally start flower in 3-5 weeks. In a 2’x3’ space, you can train a photoperiod plant to almost fill the area and have a potentially much bigger harvest. At 250w, if it’s true watts, your lights should do pretty good for the space too.

Research what strain you think would be right, or a strain you have had before. ILGM has some awesome genetics. A lot of growers here can help pick strains if you don’t have one picked already too.