Auto spacing indoor

Attempting 1st auto this winter. I have about 6’ by 8’ space. Got 2 LED’ S, that cover 4’ by 4’ veg and 3’ by 3’ for flower.

Q1. How much spacing will I need between plants?

Q2. How many auto plants under each light 1, 2, 4, 6?

Q3. Do not top correct?

Q4. Pot size, 3, 5, or 7gal fabric pots? Using soil ocean forest fox farm.

Q5. Do I need nutrients as I go?

Thanks in advance for the pro advice and tips. I’m sure more questions soon to come. Probably start in beginning of November.

1 Like

@Balls2wall I’m new to this myself but I’ll give you some of the answers I’ve seen around the forums that are most consistent.

For autos
1- top early if you’re going to top, like as soon as the plant has 4-5 nodes, and probably just once. After that FIM is safer

2- I need to know more about your lights. I have a pair of VS1000 lights, which translates into 100ish actual watts per light. I pretty much need both of them for one square meter. They claim to have a flower footprint of 3x3 each but I quickly learned that’s nowhere near enough light for a 3x3 space.

3- I’d use a 7gal pot - more soil = more available nutrients from the dirt without needing supplemental feedings and less watering.

4- I have 3 autos next to eachother and they’re fine for right now but they’re small. The general rule of thumb with plants is that your yield is based on how many square feet/square meters you grow in and not really how many plants you have. That’ll be a little bit different for autos but I’ve seen folks here grow some pretty big ones. I wouldn’t really put them any closer than one plant per 1x1 square and be prepared to spread them out if you need to.