Auto’s versus Fem seeds

Total novice here and curious to the major differences and why people choose regular Fem seeds.
What are the advantages of choosing regular Fem seeds?

3 Likes

Welcome! I can tell you this much I run Photoperiod plants because it allows you to be in control of the length of time you can Veg your plants. Auto’s flower regardless of the light and dark cycle. Meaning they will only get so big and then will flower AUTOmatically hence why they are called auto’s. You can veg photos for as long as you like if your indoors simply because you control the light dark periods. This allows you to employ several training methods and also grow monster plants that produce more flower. Hope this helps!

5 Likes

Because Auto suck. They do what they want, when the want. Photo you can keep vegging for months and months before you force it to flower. :+1:

3 Likes

Auto vs Fem

Pick which one you think which Is which. :+1:

2 Likes

I thought yield would be a key factor. Makes total sense!
Thanks for sharing

2 Likes

Well technically you can yield way more with a photo which you can veg longer which leads to larger yields.

1 Like

Autos don’t “suck” unless you’re looking for a plant that you can grow to a large size. Autos are convenient if you live somewhere that big plants aren’t feasible. Yes, they yield less on average. They’re a smaller plant generally. But that doesn’t mean you can’t or won’t get a decent amount of smoke from an auto if you treat it right.

7 Likes

I’m running autos right now but gonna transition to photos. For me I chose autos because the advertised ease for beginners. Now I know they aren’t any easier the same strain auto or photo grow with the same issues or lack of. Ok then there’s the quick harvest time, well no because you can force a photo to flip and the flowering time is the same. Difference really comes down to yield. But still I’m gonna do 5 runs of autos and stock up some buds to last thru a long photo grow.

2 Likes