Another Newbie Here - Can You Check My Equipment

Hey all. Love the forum and support.
I just found this site and for the first time felt confident enough to buy seeds. I’ve been wanting to grow for some time. So after ordering the seeds and Plant food I ordered a bunch of supplies. I’m just not sure if I got the right supplies. Here is my list:
Winado 4’ W x 4’ L X 6.5’. H Grow Tent
Hydro Crunch 600-Watt HPS
VIVOSUN 4 Inch 190 CFM Inline Fan with Speed Controller, 4 Inch Carbon Filter

I got FOXFARM Ocean Forest potting soil to place in the bottom 1/3 of the pot and
FOXFARM Happy Frog potting soil mixed with Vigoro 2 cu. ft. Organic Perlite for the rest. I’m planning on using 3 gallon pots.

My Blue Dream seeds arrive last night and a few are in a cup of water germinating.

2 Likes

Overall, your equipment list looks OK. Keep an eye on temperature in the tent. HPS produces a lot of heat and you may need another fan or a larger fan. You will also want a TDS meter and a pH meter. Also start thinking about what line of nutrients that you want to use.

7 Likes

Sounds like your off to a great start, get two thermometers one digital and one old school with humidity gauge.

4 Likes

I’ve got a 6" inline fan to bring in air but I don’t like it because it’s loud. I’m looking for something else. I do have a Hydro Crunch - Soil Moisture Light pH Meter 3-in-1 Soil Tester Kit. Do you think that will do?

1 Like

Those 3-in-1 devices are not useful for measuring pH. They are barely any good for measuring soil moisture and light levels. Many of us (including myself) got those when starting out. It turned out to be totally useless for me.

5 Likes

I would add some florescent t5 full spectrum to enhance your lighting for veg.

1 Like

@Merlin44 What do you recommend?

1 Like

I will tag a couple of folks that can help with recommendations for EC and pH meters.
@dbrn32 @AfgVet @Flitme @Myfriendis410 @MattyBear