Ammonia smell in soil

I have a mishmash of things going on. i have a few plants with Kind soil in the bottom and some with Coco Loco and others with Roots organics as the base media. i transplanted some smaller plants yesterday and my tent smells TERRIBLY of ammonia. i dug the kind bags out of the garbage and at least one had an eye-watering ammonia smell and a second was mild, but it was there. I repotted the super stinky one into something else. the tent still smells. what do we think is going on here? this is my first time in soil but i don’t think this is normal.

if i have mold… do the carbon filters filter out mold? hate to think of what kind of air i’m living and sleeping in.

1 Like

The odor is the result of inefficient breakdown of organic compounds and might be an indicator of inadequate oxygen for microbial activity. Organic compounds cannot compost without adequate oxygen, make sure you add at least 30% perlite as I believe (could be wrong) you have volitilization and is pretty common with high concentrations of nitrogen.

Turn your mix, water it thoroughly, maybe a couple of times a week to allow all of your mix to be exposed to oxygen.

I would also wait and see what others have to say

3 Likes

thx but not sure how you turn soil in a potted plant?

I really don’t know, If it were me, I would get rid of it and start over, but, we have some master growers here that caan probably help more than me.

i did pitch the really bad one. and as far as the oxygen goes everything was just potted up yesterday so it got aerated.

eh, i hate this. waiting on feedback from Kind, too

How long have you had these bags? On the bag they say if you’re not using the soil, open the bag to replenish the oxygen often.

1 Like

one i used right away and the second was three or four weeks. i did not see that note though so thanks for that. maybe this second bag will improve. everything is in cloth pots